Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I think my favorite season of the year is actually the CHANGE of seasons. I get so excited about the beginnings of spring, summer, fall, and even winter (because Christmas). But there is just something really special about fall. The changing leaves. The crisp, cool air. The football parties. And. The pumpkin spice EVERYTHING.

My husband probably dreads this time of year, because I think I may have over-pumpkined him over our time together as a couple. It began innocently enough when we were dating and he would bring me Pumpkin Spice Lattes from Starbucks to the office on Fridays (p.s. I just came across the SWEETEST voicemail from him during said time period, when he was on his way to pick up a Friday morning treat for me).

  But once we got married (in the FALL!!!), I think he started to realize that this is more of a sick obsession than just a sweet treat. (I believe the straw that broke the camel’s back last year was a recipe that I made for pumpkin PASTA!!!! It was fabulous, though. You should try it.)

I can’t help myself, though. just really love pumpkin spice. I think if you added pumpkin spice to a mud pie I’d probably eat it. AND LOVE IT! I don’t really see the problem with this, but I do have to limit myself a bit for Bri’s sake, and sometimes make my own pumpkin spice stuff – individually portioned, of course…

For example, we use a Keurig for our coffee each morning, and instead of buying Trader Joe’s FABULOUS pumpkin spiced coffee, I just put some pumpkin pie spice into my refillable Keurig basket with the coffee grounds, and it’s almost as good. And poor Brian doesn’t have to drink pumpkin pie spice coffee, if he doesn’t want.

 

Last fall when Cooper was just a little guy

 
Because I love the change of seasons, I also want my home decor to change over every few months. Brian and I got married in October (TWO years ago, people!!! Time has FLOWN by!!!), so we have lots of fall-themed decorations left over from the wedding that my mom and her friend did for me. So each year, I look forward to throwing pops of orange, burgundy, brown, green, and yellow on our mantle, and a few other places to make our home feel cozy for fall.

Fall-themed lunch: butternut squash soup, ciabatta bread (from Crust Bakehouse), and kale salad with apples, goat cheese and walnuts

Fall-themed lunch: butternut squash soup, ciabatta bread (from Crust Bakehouse), and kale salad with apples, goat cheese and walnuts

Perhaps a little premature (because I do realize that fall doesn’t OFFICIALLY kick off until September 23rd…), last night I popped in “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” (yes, I know I’m a geek, but for some reason that one always makes me feel like it’s fall), made some pumpkin biscotti (using this recipe – YUM), and went to town on the fall decorations. (SOMEday I’ll have enough spring, summer and post-Christmas winter decorations to catch up to fall. And Christmas. Duh.)

Another of my favorite fall things (besides the weather that you can actually enjoy and not feel like you’re MELTING here in #famouslyhot Columbia) is the PRODUCE. Pumpkins aside (ah, pumpkins…), I have grown to love butternut squash (I made some AWESOME butternut squash soup the other day with items I bought at Soda City), spaghetti squash (delicious spaghetti squash and chicken meatball recipe here), apples, pears, cranberries, pomegranates… I could go on and on all day.

On a practical note, I also tend to rotate my clothes when the seasons change. Most people do this with warmer versus cooler clothing, but I’m trying to separate even certain colors and pieces (that I used to wear year-round) into various seasons. This allows me to pull them out at the beginning of a season and almost feel like I have new clothes. Almost.

banner

