Tags

, , , , ,

One of my favorite things to do on a weekend morning is to take it easy, cook a fun breakfast that might take too long to make during the week, and relax with a cup of coffee. And this is how most of our weekend mornings typically go, unless we are headed to Soda City or to an earlier church or Sunday School service. But sometimes I’d rather let someone else cook and clean up the mess for me, while I enjoy a mimosa. So recently, Bri and I headed to Yesterday’s Tavern for some southern fried goodness.

Breakfast is probably my favorite meal of the day. Channeling my inner Leslie Knope, most days I would love nothing more than a giant Belgian Waffle piled high with strawberries and whipped cream. I’ve never been a huge sandwich or salad fan, so lunch is probably my least favorite meal of the day. That’s why I’m glad someone invented brunch. It’s breakfast food, served during lunchtime.

Plus, brunch is one of the few times that it’s socially acceptable to drink champagne (or even vodka) at 10:00 in the morning.

Bri ordered some ungodly eggs-with-EVERYTHING kind of omelette. He raved over the savory richness in every bite. Plus, his meal came with a creamy and spicy potato casserole/goulash that looked divine.

Unable to decide between sweet and salty, I chose the chicken and waffles. You guys. I have no idea who thought to put fried chicken on top of a belgian waffle and pour syrup over it, but it is delicious. And the Yesterday’s version did not disappoint. The chicken tenders were perfectly crispy on the outside but soft on the inside, and they weren’t over-seasoned as many chicken strips are.

Yesterday’s also boasts a make-your-own bloody mary bar! Bri is a big fan of bloody marys (again, I go for the sweet), so he marched himself over to the bar with his mason jar mug of iced vodka and put all the mixers and garnishes his heart desired.

They also have a nice selection of other brunch beverages, so I chose something fruity and delicious. It was WAY too easy to sip, but I limited myself to one.

Of course Yesterday’s has lunch, dinner and late night menus, as well, which are all fabulous. The restaurant is one of the longer-running here in Columbia, so if you’ve not checked it out yet, it is definitely a must.

banner

