Tags

, , , , , , , ,

White Chocolate Raspberry (yes, I may have nibbled that little piece off the cake before taking the picture…)

Oh. My. Word. I LOVE cake! Love. It. So a couple of years ago when Cupcake DownSouth, a shop completely dedicated to (cup)CAKES, opened up I asked, “ummmm can they deliver?!?!?!?” (By the way, the answer is YES!!!! You can have the Cupcake Delivery Van come to your party office anytime you want!)

Cupcake makes all of its cake batters and frostings from scratch. And they give you A LOT of frosting. Not a problem for me, as I think it’s all fabulous. I actually WANT my teeth to hurt from all the sugar…

They also make fresh flavors daily. There are only a few staples that are the same each day (the standards, like Black & White, Chocoholic, Southern Red Velvet, The Standard – which is vanilla cake and chocolate frosting – and my personal fave, vanilla bean). The rest are rotated on a weekly (and seasonal) basis. In the summer, they have flavors like Key Lime Pie, Creamsicle, Bourbon Pecan Pie, Strawberries & Cream, and many others. They even have a few Gluten-Free and Vegan options on specific days, for all of you healthy kids out there!

I will say, though, that I am a little bit of a snob when it comes to frosting. I am a buttercream girl all the way. Cupcake Downsouth does typically favor the cream cheese frosting. #greatfrostingdebate. BUT they make it so sweet that I almost can’t tell. (Who are we kidding? I can tell.) They make some of the basic flavors (chocolate, vanilla) in the buttercream, but just about everything else is cream cheese. So if you’re particular, you may want to ask before you order. Even the cream cheese frosting-topped cakes are fabulous, though.

The cake is so soft and fluffy, and the frosting is so rich, but moist, that every time I resolve to be a good girl and just eat half, I end up eating the whole thing – and then wishing I had another… Not that I could really handle that much richness in one sitting (though I’d probably give it the ol’ college try…).

banner

