Tags

, , , , ,

SC State House

Engagement photo at the State House, 2013

Columbia is a relatively small city in sunny South Carolina that has really started to grow up over the last few years. We started with a river, some trains and Adluh Flour, and have slowly begun to evolve as a cultural and recreational destination. No, we’re not Charleston with all of its historic beauty, sea breeze and Southern Charm. Nor are we Greenville, with its Coffee Underground and gorgeous Main Street. But Columbia, #FamouslyHot as it is, has a lot to offer.

And it is hot… With temperatures in the upper 90s and a humidity of about 1,000 from May to October, the sweltering summers often make us Columbians thankful for the icy cold Saluda River, (the lukewarm) Lake Murray, gives-you-a-toothache-sweet iced tea and good ol’ fashioned A/C. But if you can take the heat (or just pop indoors for a bit), you’ll find a city full of life, culture, cuisine, arts and adventure.

I’ve lived in Columbia most of my life. I’ve travelled to other cities, states and countries, but Columbia, South Carolina, will always have a special place in my heart. While I used to dream of getting out of here, now I can’t think of anywhere else I’d rather live. And to quote my friend Rachel, “Columbia: It grows on you.”

